Lens Review//Samyang 85mm

The Samyang 85mm f/1.4 for Nikon cost only about $300.  This lens is a fully manual lens, which means, that it doesn’t focus automatically. For me, this is a little hard, but you just have to have patience. I bought the type with the auto confirm chip.
The build quality of this lens is amazing. I’ve never shot with Nikon’s 85mm so I can’t really compare the two.  But this lens is fabulous! For $300 this does not feel like junk or as though it’s cheap. One thing I wanted to mention was the weight of the lens.  I guess I was expecting it to be almost as light as the 18-55mm kit lens I have, but it’s not!  This lens weighs almost a pound and a half.  The lens is made with glass and aluminum components.  Before I bought the lens, some of the reviews were saying that the hood accessory doesn’t really stay on.  However, mine stays on very well.  It doesn’t feel as though it will blow off.  It screws on very tightly.

When I first unboxed  the lens, I sat there for about ten minutes trying to figure out how to put it on, so that part is a little tricky to get at first.

The quality of the images is amazing.  Again, I can’t compare it to Nikon’s because I’ve never shot with that.  But this is just stunning!  The bokeh you get is amazing!  I shot a video with this lens so you can see some of the bokeh I caught.  With the weight of this lens, you do need to have your camera on a tripod for shooting video.  I think there are three shots I took with it handheld.

Another thing I’d like to say about the lens is shooting in low light.  I read about it being pretty good, so  I attached my 55-200mm kit lens and took a picture with only a lamplight on.  Then, I attached my 85mm and with the same settings, re-took the picture.  It was so much brighter! So this lens really is nice for low light situations!

I shoot on a Nikon D5100 so it has a 1.5 crop sensor.  I was a little afraid of getting the 85mm and not having a full frame camera.  However, after reading so many reviews from people without full frame cameras I knew it wouldn’t be a bad choice, and I do not regret buying it! I love my Samyang 85mm!

Here are a few images I shot with the Samyang 85mm f/1. Just about all of these images were shot with the aperture set at 1.4-2.

5 thoughts on “Lens Review//Samyang 85mm

Leave a Reply

