Samyang 85mm

Folks, I am happy to introduce you to the newest member of my camera family!  The Samyang 85mm f/1.4!!

I’ve been wanting to buy a portrait lens since…well forever! But as many of you know they are really expensive.  Do I need to say that again?  Yeah, so let’s go on.  At the beginning of August I went onto Craigslist and typed  in “85mm” just to see what would come up.  I found this lens called Rokinon. I had never heard of this before but it was in my price range so I googled it.  What I found out was amazing.  There was one problem.  The person selling this lens was not nearby.  But it was close to where we were going to be with some friends in September.  So I contacted the person the Monday before the Saturday that we were going down there.  They still had it!  We set up a time and location.  I was getting ready that morning and my brother came upstairs with my phone saying that they didn’t want to sell it.  I didn’t believe him so I grabbed the phone and started reading. ” I’m genuinely sorry to do this, but I was up all night weighing the loss of this lens…….” Do I need to go any further or are y’all feeling a little bit sad?  Yeah, I wanted to cry but I knew it wasn’t the end of the world so I didn’t.  They kept apologizing over and over aging, sending me eBay listings and they said if I was already on my way that they’d buy me a coffee:)  I think the thing that hurt the most was that I watched it for a whole month hoping it wouldn’t sell, and then getting my bubble bursted.  But I got over it.  Last week I found another one. This one was even farther away so I asked the person if they’d be willing to meet halfway…if not that would be okay.  I didn’t hear back from them at all so I just dropped that whole idea.  I started looking online. I didn’t really want to pay shipping and tax but I thought I’d look anyway.  I didn’t find it with the price I was willing to pay anywhere.  Then, randomly on Monday night I googled it again and one showed up on B&H that was cheaper than the ones on Amazon. I had looked on B&H numerous times but for some odd reason they were more expensive.  And it got better.  It was free expedited shipping and no sales tax on things sold out of the state of New York.  I was shocked!  Rokinon and Samyang are the same company incase you are wondering.  So now I sit here and my camera has a portrait lens attached to it!  I’m so happy folks!  Here are a few of the pictures I took today right after it arrived.


So, that’s the story!  I’m going to be putting together a short video shot with with this lens and a review.  Hopefully that post will be up this weekend!  Off to do some more shooting!

7 thoughts on “Samyang 85mm

Leave a Reply

